June 7, 2024

The article by Prof. Dr. habil. Uwe Lahl and Dr. Barbara Zeschmar-Lahl on the topic “More than 30 Years of PVC Recycling in Europe — Need for Regulation” has been published in the Special Issue of Sustainability: Resources and Waste Management (Sustainability 2024, 16, 4891).

As documented in our “Critical Inventory” (Sustainability 2024, 16, 3854), the PVC industry’s track record to date of increasing the sustainability of PVC plastic is not convincing, although the industry takes a different view. The question, therefore, arises as to whether legislators should intervene in Europe or at national levels.

As we show in our paper, none of the waste disposal processes currently in use (mechanical recycling, energy recovery) have sufficient capabilities to absorb the additional quantities of PVC that will enter the waste management system from the existing stock in the future. Therefore, the only solution for today’s PVC waste, and especially the stock problem that is heading towards the waste management sector, is to collect and dispose of PVC separately. Chemical recycling and mono-incineration have the potential to solve the stock problem in the future. However, this will require the construction of separate collection and industrial plants, which, in the case of chemical recycling, will technically need two stages in order to separate the chlorine as HCl in advance.

The creation of a plant infrastructure with which PVC could be processed would relieve the other parts of the waste management sector of chlorine massively. VinylPlus/EuPC stated: “The European PVC manufacturers, converters and recyclers would be more than happy to process the waste if efficient logistic systems would exist to bring the waste to them”, and they “would welcome to make this separate collection mandatory.”

Now it’s Brussels’ turn.

Below you will find a link to download this and the previous article as well as the special edition with further interesting articles.

 

Sustainability 2024, 16, 4891
Sustainability 2024, 16, 3854
Sustainability: Special Issue

7. Juni 2024

Der Beitrag von Prof. Dr. habil. Uwe Lahl und Dr. Barbara Zeschmar-Lahl zum Thema „More than 30 Years of PVC Recycling in Europe — Need for Regulation“ ist in der Sonderausgabe von Sustainability: Resources and Waste Management erschienen (Sustainability 2024, 16, 4891).

Wie in unserer „Kritischen Bestandsaufnahme“ (Sustainability 2024, 16, 3854) dokumentiert, ist die bisherige Erfolgsbilanz der PVC-Industrie bei der Verbesserung der Nachhaltigkeit von PVC-Kunststoffen nicht überzeugend, auch wenn die Industrie das anders sieht. Es stellt sich daher die Frage, ob der Gesetzgeber in Europa oder auf nationaler Ebene eingreifen sollte.

In diesem Beitrag zeigen wir, dass keines der derzeit praktizierten Abfallentsorgungsverfahren (mechanisches Recycling, energetische Verwertung) über ausreichende Kapazitäten verfügt, um die zusätzlichen PVC-Mengen, die zukünftig aus dem Bestand in die Abfallwirtschaft gelangen werden, aufzunehmen. Daher besteht die einzige Lösung für die heutigen PVC-Abfälle und insbesondere für das Bestandsproblem, das auf die Abfallwirtschaft zukommt, in der getrennten Erfassung und Entsorgung von PVC. Das chemische Recycling und die Monoverbrennung haben das Potenzial, das Bestandsproblem in Zukunft zu lösen. Dies erfordert jedoch den Bau von getrennten Erfassungs- und Industrieanlagen, die im Falle des chemischen Recyclings technisch gesehen zwei Stufen benötigen, um das Chlor als HCl im Voraus abzutrennen.

Das Schaffen einer Anlageninfrastruktur, mit der PVC verarbeitet werden könnte, würde die anderen Teile der Abfallwirtschaft massiv von Chlor entlasten. Dazu VinylPlus/EuPC: „Die europäischen PVC-Hersteller, -Verarbeiter und -Verwerter wären mehr als bereit, die Abfälle zu verarbeiten, wenn es effiziente logistische Systeme gäbe, um die Abfälle zu ihnen zu bringen“, und sie „würden es begrüßen, wenn diese getrennte Erfassung obligatorisch würde.“

Nun ist Brüssel am Zug.

Unten finden Sie einen Link zum Download dieses und des vorhergehenden Beitrags sowie zur Sonderausgabe mit weiteren interessanten Beiträgen.

 

 

Sustainability 2024, 16, 4891
Sustainability 2024, 16, 3854
Sustainability: Special Issue