About us

Here you can find current information about us.

For nearly 30 years, BZL Kommunikation und Projektsteuerung GmbH (BZL GmbH) has been providing scientific advice and support to politicians and administrations, associations and companies as well as civil society organisations. More on our pages

BZL GmbH was founded in 1994 by Dr. rer. nat. Barbara Zeschmar-Lahl, who has been managing the company ever since. For larger projects, we can draw on a network of competent colleagues.

Dr. rer. nat. Barbara Zeschmar-Lahl

Barbara studied biology at the University of Bremen (diploma 1984) and in 2003 received her doctorate at the Technical University of Berlin in Faculty III – Process Sciences on a waste-specific topic. After many years of freelance work and several teaching assignments at the Universities of Bielefeld and Oldenburg as well as authorized representative of a research institute and branch manager of an engineering office, she founded BZL Kommunikation und Projektsteuerung GmbH in 1994, based in Oyten near Bremen.

Barbara is an auditor for the field of recycling at the Environmental Assessment Committee (UGA) in accordance with Section 21 para. 1 No. 2 UAG of the German Federal Ministry for the Environment.

Since 1995, the Committee for Biological Agents (ABAS) has been advising the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs (BMAS) on questions of occupational safety and health in activities involving biological agents (microorganisms in the broadest sense). The legal basis for this is § 19 of the Biological Agents Ordinance. Since 2002, Barbara has represented the Bank of Trade Unions (ver.di) in the ABAS Subcommittee 2 “Protective Measures” as well as in the later established UA2 working groups on waste management and risk communication. After leaving UA2 at the end of 2022, she continues to be active for the trade unions as an expert in the working group on waste management.

Since 2005, Barbara has been editor of the Müll-Handbuch, the standard work of German waste management (Erich Schmidt Verlag, Berlin).

From October 2009 to September 2010, Barbara was a member of the Committee for the Development of VDI Directive 3925 – Tools for the Evaluation of Waste Treatment Procedures.

From October 2004 to December 2009, Barbara was a member of the Supervisory Board of the Berlin City Cleaning Companies (BSR), an institution governed by public law (AöR), appointed by the guarantor meeting.

From 2002 to 2009, Barbara was a representative of the environmental associations in the Working Committee for Secondary Fuels (NA 062-05-83 AA) at the DIN Standards Committee Material Testing (NA 062) and was its national delegate in Working Group 3 (“Sampling, sample reduction and supplementary test methods”) of CEN/TC 343 – Solid Recovered Fuels.

From 1997 to 1999, Barbara was a member of the expert commission “Plastics industry in Lower Saxony on the model of sustainable development” convened by the Lower Saxony Ministry of the Environment, where she represented the Bank der NGOs (here: Naturschutzbund Deutschland (NABU)).

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Uwe Lahl

After his training and professional activity as a chemical laboratory technician, Uwe studied German language and literature, education and social sciences, and chemistry (teaching profession, secondary level II) at the University of Bremen (1st state examination), where he received his doctorate in 1982 for a thesis on an environmental chemistry topic.

After working as a research assistant for the first Green parliamentary group in the Bundestag, Uwe served as Head of Department for the environment and health of the city of Bielefeld from 1986 to 1991.

From 1992 to 1994 he was State Councillor (deputy minister) and Permanent Representative of the Senator for Environment and Urban Development of the State of Bremen.

From 1995 to 2000, Uwe was managing director of BZL Kommunikation und Projektsteuerung GmbH. During this period, he started his habilitation at the Technical University of Darmstadt (Habilitation thesis 2001 (in German), habilitation 2003) and served there as a private lecturer.

In 2001, Uwe moved back into administration. From 2001 to 2009, he was Ministerial Director and Head of the Department IG – Environment and Health, Immission Control, Plant Safety and Transport, Chemistry – at the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety. In addition, he continued his teaching activities, from 2008 as an adjunct professor at the Technical University of Darmstadt with a teaching license for immission control and waste management.

After leaving the BMU at the end of 2009, Uwe again served as managing director of BZL Kommunikation und Projektsteuerung GmbH until 2014. He not only continued his teaching activities at TU Darmstadt, but was also involved in the establishment of a master’s program in environmental engineering at the University of Indonesia (Jakarta) from 2010 to 2017. In 2011, he was appointed associate professor by the UI.

In March 2014, Uwe moved to the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Transport as Head of Office and Permanent Representative of the Minister of Transport. In April 2021, he took over the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Social Affairs, Health and Integration as Head of Office and Permanent Representative of the Minister. From January 2022 until his retirement at the end of June 2022, he still served there as Head of Office Pandemic Control.

In July 2022, Uwe returned to BZL Kommunikation und Projektsteuerung GmbH, where he works as senior expert, responsible in particular for projects in the field of innovative fuels and the chemical recycling of post-consumer plastic waste. He also continues his teaching activities at the TU Darmstadt.

Über uns

Hier finden Sie aktuelle Informationen über uns.

Seit knapp 30 Jahren bietet die BZL Kommunikation und Projektsteuerung GmbH (BZL GmbH) wissenschaftliche Beratung und Unterstützung von Politik und Verwaltung, Verbänden und Unternehmen sowie zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen. Mehr dazu auf unseren Seiten

Gegründet wurde die BZL GmbH im Jahr 1994 von Dr. rer. nat. Barbara Zeschmar-Lahl, die das Unternehmen seither als geschäftsführende Gesellschafterin leitet. Bei größeren Projekten können wir auf ein Netzwerk aus kompetenten Kolleginnen und Kollegen zurückgreifen.

Dr. rer. nat. Barbara Zeschmar-Lahl

Barbara Zeschmar-Lahl hat an der Universität Bremen Biologie studiert (Diplom 1984) und im Jahr 2003 an der Technischen Universität Berlin in der Fakultät III – Prozesswissenschaften über ein abfallspezifisches Thema promoviert. Nach langjähriger freiberuflicher Tätigkeit und mehreren Lehraufträgen an den Universitäten Bielefeld und Oldenburg sowie als Prokuristin eines Forschungsinstituts und Niederlassungsleiterin eines Ingenieurbüros gründete sie 1994 die BZL Kommunikation und Projektsteuerung GmbH mit Sitz in Oyten bei Bremen.

Dr. Zeschmar-Lahl ist als Prüferin für den Bereich Recycling beim Umweltgutachterausschuss (UGA) nach § 21 Abs. 1 Nr. 2 UAG des deutschen Bundesumweltministeriums zugelassen.

Der Ausschuss für Biologische Arbeitsstoffe (ABAS) berät seit 1995 das Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales (BMAS) in Fragen des Arbeitsschutzes bei Tätigkeiten mit biologischen Arbeitsstoffen (Mikroorganismen im weitesten Sinn). Die gesetzliche Grundlage dafür bildet § 19 der Biostoffverordnung. Seit 2002 hat Dr. Zeschmar-Lahl die Bank der Gewerkschaften (ver.di) im ABAS-Unterausschuss 2 „Schutzmaßnahmen“ sowie in den später eingerichteten UA2-Arbeitskreisen Abfallwirtschaft sowie Risikokommunikation vertreten. Nach ihrem Ausscheiden aus dem UA2 Ende 2022 ist sie weiterhin für die Gewerkschaften als Expertin im Arbeitskreis Abfallwirtschaft aktiv.

Seit 2005 ist Dr. Zeschmar-Lahl Herausgeberin des Müll-Handbuches, dem Standardwerk der deutschen Abfallwirtschaft (Erich Schmidt Verlag, Berlin).

Dr. Zeschmar-Lahl war von Oktober 2009 bis September 2010 Mitglied im Ausschuss zur Erarbeitung der VDI-Richtlinie 3925 – Werkzeuge zur Bewertung von Abfallbehandlungsverfahren.

Von Oktober 2004 bis Dezember 2009 war Dr. Zeschmar-Lahl von der Gewährsträgerversammlung bestelltes Mitglied im Aufsichtsrat der Berliner Stadtreinigungsbetriebe (BSR), einer Anstalt öffentlichen Rechts (AöR).

Von 2002 bis 2009 wirkte Dr. Zeschmar-Lahl als Vertreterin der Umweltverbände im Arbeitsausschuss Sekundärbrennstoffe (NA 062-05-83 AA) beim DIN-Normenausschuss Materialprüfung (NA 062) mit und war dessen nationale Delegierte in der Working Group 3 („Sampling, sample reduction and supplementary test methods“) des CEN/TC 343 – Solid Recovered Fuels.

Von 1997 bis 1999 war Dr. Zeschmar-Lahl Mitglied der vom niedersächsischen Umweltministerium einberufenen Expertenkommission „Kunststoffindustrie in Niedersachsen am Leitbild einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung“, wo sie die Bank der NGOs (hier: Naturschutzbund Deutschland (NABU)) vertrat.

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Uwe Lahl

Nach seiner Ausbildung zum und Berufstätigkeit als Chemielaborant hat Prof. Dr. Uwe Lahl an der Universität Bremen Germanistik, Erziehungs- und Gesellschaftswissenschaften sowie Chemie (Lehramt, SEK II) studiert (1. Staatsexamen) und 1982 dort über ein über ein umweltchemisches Thema promoviert.

Nach seiner Tätigkeit als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der ersten GRÜNEN Fraktion im Deutschen Bundestag (1983 bis 1985) war er von 1986 bis 1991 Beigeordneter (Dezernent) für Umwelt und Gesundheit der Stadt Bielefeld. Von 1992 bis 1994 war er Staatsrat und ständiger Vertreter des Senators für Umwelt und Stadtentwicklung des Landes Bremen.

Von 1995 bis 2000 war er Geschäftsführer der BZL Kommunikation und Projektsteuerung GmbH tätig. Während dieser Zeit begann er mit seiner Habilitation er an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt (Habilitationsschrift 2001, Habilitation 2003) und lehrte dort als Privatdozent.

2001 wechselte er wieder in die Verwaltung. Von 2001 bis 2009 leitete er als Ministerialdirektor im Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit die Abteilung IG – Umwelt und Gesundheit, Immissionsschutz, Anlagensicherheit und Verkehr, Chemie. Daneben führte er seine Lehrtätigkeit fort, ab 2008 als außerplanmäßiger (apl.) Professor an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt mit der Lehrbefugnis für Immissionsschutz und Abfallwirtschaft.

Nach seinem Ausscheiden aus dem BMU Ende 2009 war er bis 2014 erneut als Geschäftsführer der BZL Kommunikation und Projektsteuerung GmbH tätig. Er führte nicht nur seine Lehrtätigkeit an der TU Darmstadt fort, sondern war auch von 2010 bis 2017 am Aufbau eines Master-Studiengangs Umweltingenieurswissenschaften an der University of Indonesia (Jakarta) beteiligt. 2011 wurde er von der UI zum außerordentlichen Professor berufen.

Im März 2014 wechselte er als Amtschef und ständiger Vertreter des Verkehrsministers ins Verkehrsministerium Baden-Württemberg. Im April 2021 übernahm er als Amtschef und ständiger Vertreter des Ministers das Ministerium für Soziales, Gesundheit und Integration Baden-Württemberg. Von Januar 2022 bis zu seinem Ruhestand Ende Juni 2022 fungierte er dort noch als Amtschef Pandemiebewältigung.

Im Juli 2022 kehrte er in die BZL Kommunikation und Projektsteuerung GmbH zurück und kümmert sich hier als Senior Expert insbesondere um Projekte im Bereich Innovative Kraftstoffe und das chemische Recycling von post-consumer-Kunststoffabfällen. Zudem setzte er seine Lehrtätigkeit an der TU Darmstadt bis Ende 2022 fort.